Saturday Night Fever


A non-replica production of the 197Os iconic disco film.

The South African State Theatre, Opera Stage

Nominated for three Naledi Awards

“Award-winning director Greg Homann proves that he’s clearly able to cast his net a lot wider than solely serious theatre. In this, his musical directing debut, he’s done a sterling job… epic masterpiece… drop-dead incredible… Go … book … NOW!!!.” – Glitter and Toast

“ …a feel-good, sit back and enjoy musical, created to entertain.” – Louw Mulder

“…great performances all around…” – Diane de Beer (The Star)

“This is a slick, pulsating, big time, glitzy, but human musical.” – Jennifer de Klerk

“Not to be missed … Daniel Buys as the iconic Tony Manero literally steals the show with his cool outfits and amazing voice … the creative team led by director Greg Homann has captured the mood and essence of this landmark time … boogey like it’s 1977!” – Heather Hook

“The enthusiastic opening night audience hollered their approval throughout … It was a triumph! The production is fast-paced and jam packed with dance numbers beautifully choreographed by Weslee Swain Lauder”
– Moira de Swardt

Based on the Paramount/RSO Film and the story by Nick Cohn

Adapted for the stage by Robert Stigwood in collaboration with Bill Oaks

North American version written by Sean Cercone and David Abbinanti

Produced by Bernard Jay in association with The South African State Theatre

Directed by Greg Homann

Musical Direction by Rowan Bakker

Choreographed by Weslee Swain Lauder

Set and Lighting Designed by Denis Hutchinson

Costumes Designed by Sarah Roberts

Sound Design by Trevor Peters

Production Manager – Vanessa Nicolau

Costume Co-ordinator – Bronwen Lovegrove

Company Manager – Mdu Nhlapo

Production Stage Manager – Leigh-Anne Nanguia

Assistant Stage Manager – Amy Harris

Dialect Coach – Gina Shmukler

Assistant Musical Direction – Drew Rienstra

Assistant to Denis Hutchinson – Kamini Soobben


Daniel Buys

Natasha van der Merwe

L J Neilson

Kiruna-Lind Devar

Bongi Mthombeni

Sebe Leotlela

Matthew Berry

Brandon Lindsay

Steven van Wyk

Keaton Ditchfield

Cameron Botha

Craig Urbani

Charmaine Weir-Smith

Phumi Mncayi

Nathan Kruger

Clint Lesch

Zane Gillion

Mark Richardson

Phillip Schnetler

Devon Flemmer

Nurit Graff

Toni Jean Erasmus

Raquel Munn

Joanna Abatzoglou

Vanessa Brierley

Londiwe Dhlomo